2018 Senior Premier League Coaches

Sutherland Hockey Club is pleased to announce the Senior Premier League Coaching line up for our mens and womens teams for 2018.

Senior Mens

The Premier League Mens 1st Grade team will once again be headed up by last year’s premiership winning coaches Peter Tait and Jay Holley assisted by Peter Krepp as the team manager. Both Peter and Jay are two of the most experienced coaches in Sydney and NSW and their results as coaches are impressive.

The 2nd Grade mens team welcomes Gavin Bobyk to the coaching ranks. Gavin came through the Sutherland Junior ranks and is a multiple premiership winning senior player and former NSW representative player. Gavin brings a great deal of experience, enthusiasm and passion to the role and will have the support of a strong senior leadership group around him.

Senior Womens

All our senior women teams will once again we overseen by our head coach Sarah Dredge. Sarah has worked tirelessly over the past two years building a great playing environment for our senior women players and she will again be looking to build and consolidate this in 2018. Sarah is also the coach of the 1st Grade team.

We also welcome Wade Tonna to the role of 2nd Grade Womens Coach. Wade acted as an assistant coach last year for the team and will be looking to build on the foundation that was built last year.

Finally thank you to 2017 coaches John Cowan (2nd Grade mens) and Sam Lackey (2nd Grade womens) for all their hardwork, dedication and effort that has gone into coaching the teams over the last few years.



Updated: Sutho Senior Men Pre-Season Information

Please see below information on the 2018 Senior Men Preseason.

The Pre-season Program is open to all Senior Men, Under 17’s and 2nd year U15’s and will be run by 3rd/4th grade coach Andrew Hoy, with assistance from Brad Bollard and Sean Kelly. The trials will be used to grade all players into teams from 3rd grade down.

Training sessions for 3rd to 6th grade will be Thursdays from 7 – 9.15pm. Once the season commences, 5th and 6th grade will train from 7 – ~8pm, with 3rd and 4th grade squad from 7:30 – 9:15pm.

There will be an Intra-club trial held on 25 Feb  9.00 am – noon. The trials will be used to grade all players into teams from 3rd grade down. Please register your interest for the Intra-club trials at https://1drv.ms/xs/s!Amw4AaXsXG25spZN5G8tQN9xJ99VzQ?wdFormId=%7B56C0CCE0%2D1AE9%2D4E44%2DB418%2D99BB84E09A74%7D .

The pre-season schedule is:

Date Activity Time Venue
Thursday 1 February Fitness 7.00-8.30pm Turf, Hockey Park
Thursday 8 February Fitness/Skills 7.00-9.15pm Turf, Hockey Park
Thursday 15 February Fitness/Skills 7.00-9.15pm Turf, Hockey Park
Thursday 22 February Fitness/Skills 7.00-9.15pm Turf, Hockey Park
Sunday 25 February Intra club Trial 1 9.00am – 12.00pm Turf, Hockey Park
Thursday 1 March Fitness/Skills 7.00-9.15pm Turf, Hockey Park
Sunday 4 March Intra club Trial 2 9.00 am – noon Turf, Hockey Park
Thursday 8 March Fitness/Skills 7.00-9.15pm Turf, Hockey Park
Sunday 11 March Intra club Trial 3 9.00 am – noon Turf, Hockey Park
Thursday 15 March Squad Training 7.00-9.15pm Turf, Hockey Park
Sunday 18 March Inter Club Trial TBC TBC
Thursday 22 March Squad Training 7.00-9.15pm Turf, Hockey Park
Saturday 24 March Premier League season

(3rd/4th grade)

TBC Sydney League season

(5th/6th grade)


Please communicate any queries or attendance information through Andrew Hoy (Mens Convenor). Andrew can be emailed at seniormen@sutho.com.au

We look forward to seeing you as soon as you are able to join us.

Happy New Year – 2018 Registration

Happy New Year and welcome to 2018.

What a year 2017 was for Sutherland Hockey Club with many successes on and off the field with the highlight being our Premier League Mens team bringing home the Sydney Hockey Premier League Premiership trophy for the 7th time and our top two U15 and U17 teams bring home the Sydney Metro premierships.

2018 is shaping up to an even bigger and better year  and th 2018 Registration Information is now available on our website:  http://www.sutho.com.au/registration/registration-information/

We look forward to welcoming back our 2017 members as well as welcoming brand new members to the club.





Latest Sutherland Hockey Club Life Member – Peter Krepp

Congratulations to longtime club member Peter Krepp who was voted in as a Life Member of Sutherland Hockey Club at the 2017 AGM held on Monday 4th December at the club.

Peter has been a longtime supporter for the club and for the past few years has held a position on the committee.

In 2017 alone Peter was the 1st and 2nd Grade men’s manager, ran the Minkey hockey program, was the club’s Publicity and Sponsorship Officer, assisting John Cowan with the canteen as well as a co-organiser with John Cowan of the School Gala Day event and the the Term 4 School Summer Competition.

Peter’s contribution to the club is considerable and we thank him for his continued efforts for not only the club but for the game of hockey.



Sutho Junior 2017 Presentation Day Award Winner

The junior season officially came to an end on Sunday with the 2017 Junior Presentation Day.

Thank you to all our junior families for attending the presentation day and being part of the Sutherland Hockey family in 2017.

Congratulations to all our 2017 Junior award winners.

Major Award Winners
Junior Female Player of the Year Claudia Johnston
Junior Male Player of the Year Damon Arapa
Junior Umpire of the Year Dakota Jattan
Junior Club Person of the Year Dakota Jattan
Junior Umpire Encouragement Awards Hayden Neale, Lachlan Cartwright
Junior Service Awards Matthew Staples, Nicholas Rose, Jay Kelly
Team Awards
Junior Team Best & Fairest Most Improved Coach’s Award
Sutho Metro U17 Harry Roberts Clare Callinan Rebecca Janes
U17 Blue Tongues Joshua Ko Liam Grey Matt Quinlivan
U17 Goannas William Gair Edward Weaver Joshua Maclean
Sydney Metro U15 Blue Rylee Millar Lachlan O’Leary Blake Hernandez
Sydney Metro U15 Black Daniel Bryant Luca Zatschler Ashlee Ryan
U15 A Komodo Dragons Keeghan Kosteski Aaron Krepp Raina Mifsud
U15B Blue Tongues Luke Woodman Max Bushell Tyren Money
U13A Monitor Lizards Tahlia Gibson Byron Watson Kaylee Middleton
U13A Geckos Chloe Antilla Amelia Kirby Shontae Salmon
U13B Thorny Devils Sofie Cherrie Jana Dimistrovska Sohan Mavji
U11A Geckos Jonty Austin Amelia Domrow Peter Rast
U11B Bearded Dragons Thomas Blackman Dominic Lenzo Kalahni Crews