Our Club history

Saturday afternoon at the hockey at Sutho

Sutherland District Hockey Club was formed in 1965 as Sutherland District Men’s Hockey Club and played its first matches in the Sydney Hockey Association competition in 1966.

Our Club expanded significantly from 1980 after senior and junior women players became part of our club. We now field in seven men’s Sydney Hockey grades and two in Sydney Masters, with five women’s across Sydney Women’s Hockey League, Sydney East Hockey Association and Sydney South Hockey Association competitions.

Based at Hockey Park, Sylvania, our facilities include a substantial clubhouse and our latest synthetic playing surface installed in 2019. Our Tradies Hockey Park is amongst the best in Sydney.

Our entirely volunteer-managed club prides itself on promoting, growing and developing hockey. A big part of this is our successful modified Junior Summer Competition which runs each year in School Term 4. It involves over 350 kids from local primary and high schools in the Sutherland Shire and St George regions. Our Junior Summer Comp has been running since 1983.

Sutho greatly values the contributions of coaches, managers and umpires, without whom the game doesn’t happen. Above all, our club values our players taking part in our great game at the highest levels of sportsmanship. And none of it happens without the support everyone in our extended Sutho family.

Sutherland players who have represented Australia include:

Over the years our men’s, women’s and junior teams have had great success winning numerous premierships. Our Club is proud of its long list of players who have represented NSW, as well as Kookaburras and Hockeyroos Dennis Lisk, Peter Huk, Des King, Garry Jennison, Peter Shea, Michael York, Adam Commens, Kieran Govers, Luke Noblett, Jack Hayes and Kate Hollywood.


Sutherland’s latest synthetic pitch, this Polytan Olympic standard field, was opened in 2019.