2014 Senior Awards

The 2014 season has finally drawn to a close with the conclusion of the Sutherland Hockey Club Senior presentation in October.

Congratulations to all our award winners and special congratulations to Judy Rowling for receiving Club Person of the Year and Matt Johnson and Katherine Coonerty who took at the Male and Female Senior Player of the Year awards.

A full list of the 2014 awards can be found here: 2014 Sutherland Hockey Club Senior Awards

Thank you to all our senior players and supporters for 2014 and we look forward to seeing you all back in 2015 for another successful year.

2014 Junior Awards

Our Junior Presentation was held on the 16th October at the Gymea Tradies. Thank you and congratulations to all our Sutherland Hockey Club juniors, coaches, managers and parents on a fantastic 2014 season. Well done.

Congratulations to all our junior award winners. This year our major award winners for were:

Junior Service Awards: Michelle Donni and Peter Krepp

2014 Junior Player of the Year: Christian Halyard

2014 Junior Goalkeeper of the Year: Zoe Newman

A full list of all the award winners can be found here: Sutherland Hockey Club Junior Award Winners

Team reports will be finalised shortly and posted on the website.

We look forward to seeing you all back again in 2015.



Summer Hockey Draw and Results

Our first day of summer comp kicked off yesterday with our Senior Primary Competition. Each week we will publish the Summer Hockey Draw for the upcoming week and the current week results. These can be accessed by clicking on the icon on the right hand side of the website.

Good luck to all our teams.

State Honours for Sutho Players

Its great to see 6 Sutherland players all local juniors currently representing at Australian Championships this week in both Adelaide and Brisbane.

In Adelaide we have Matt Johnson, Jono Scott and Josh Walters playing for the NSW Waratahs and Harry Roberts (NSW State) and Matt Turner (NSW Blues). Both Harry and Matt got to catch up with the older boys at a training clinic between the Men and Boys state teams.

In Brisbane we have Naomi Duncan playing for NSW State in U13’s.

Sutho also had Rebecca Janes representing NSW last week in the U14 State Team at an Invitational tournament held in Melbourne.










2014 6 Aside High School Hockey Competition – Urgent Support Needed

Hi Sutherland Junior High School Hockey Players,

The response to our High School 6 Aside Hockey Competition has been extremely poor.   Usually High School teachers have given us great support in the past but that has not been the case this year.

Therefore we are calling on you, our Club players, to support this Competition.   The original idea was to get winter hockey players to go back to their schools and get their friends to join the school team.   In this way we were introducing new players to the great game of hockey.

This is not happening so we are asking you, our players, to get with your hockey friends and form a team.   You only need 6 players.   A few phone calls, emails etc should do the trick.

As you know the Competition Divisions are:

Years 7 & 8 — Junior Girls; Junior Boys & Junior Mixed.

Years 9,10 & 11 — Senior Girls; Senior Boys & Senior Mixed.

Give this Competition your support.

We need to have your Team Nominations in by Saturday, 11/10/14.   For any further information contact me.


Kevin Connelly. Email: kcon6418@bigpond.net.au

School Gala Day

Well the sun was shining and it was blue sky all around the Sutho Hockey Club’s annual Primary School Gala Day. A big improvement on last year’s weather where it was cold and wet.

This year we had a total of 20 teams from various schools around the Sutherland and St George Area participating in the Gala Day and it was a great experience for all the kids involved.

Congratulations to all schools that participated on the day and special congratulations to our Senior Primary and Junior Primary winners and to our runner-ups.

Senior Primary School Winner: St John Bosco Primary School

Senior Primary School Runner-Up: Illawong Public School

Junior Primary School Winner: Grays Point Public School

Junior Primary School Runner-up: St George Christian School

A big thank you to Kevin Connelly who organises the Gala Day each year and ensures that it runs smoothly. Thank you to our canteen helpers Judy, Frank and Phil Rowling for keeping the kids all fed and thank you to all our high schoolers who were able to come down and help out with umpiring.