Sutho Hockey Crowned 2017 Sydney Hockey Premier League 1 Premiers

With a nail biting finish last weekend against Ryde, the scene was set for yet another epic battle between fierce rivals Sutho and Moorebank in the 2017 Sydney Hockey Premier League 1 Grand Final.

It has been 5 years since Sutherland last won a Premier League premiership which ironically was against Moorebank and Sutherland were looking to revenge their last year’s loss in the Grand Final against Moorebank.

The game was a very tight and extremely close with both teams defending strongly and shutting down each other’s opportunities. Sutho were first to score with a drag flick by Kieran Govers from a short corner but Moorebank equalised minutes later with a short corner goal of their own and were then awarded about 7 minutes out from half time a penalty stroke which they converted to head into half time leading Sutho 2-1.

The 2nd half continued in much the same way as the 1st half with both teams again shutting down most scoring opportunities but Sutho managed to break through Moorebank’s strong defence with a well timed hit by Shayne Smith into the circle to find Matt Bennett who slotted the ball into the goal to even the score to 2-2.

With the change in momentum shifting to Sutherland, the boys started to open up Moorebank’s defence and with just under 10 minutes remaining in the game Matt Bennett found the back of the net with his trademark tomahawk shot to give Sutho the lead 3-2.

Despite Moorebank throwing everything they had at Sutho to equalise the score, Sutho’s strong defence stepped up another notch and held off any attack Moorebank threw at them to go on and take the 2017 Title with a 3-2 win and the club’s 7th Sydney Premier League 1 Premiership (1991,92,98, 2004, 2011,12, 2017).

Congratulations to all the players and coaches Peter Tait and Jay Holley and manager Peter Krepp on a successful 2017 campaign.

Congratulations to Matt Bennett on being named Best and Fairest in the 2017 Grand Final.

Congratulations to Moorebank Hockey Club on their 2017 season.

More photos and link to the video of the game can be found on the club’s facebook page

Player Sydney

Premier League 1 Premierships Won

GK Nathan Akroyd 2017
1 Cameron Buesnel 2011,2012,2017
2 Brady Anderson 2017
3 Mitch Wray © 2011,2012,2017
4 Jack Hayes 2017
5 Matt Phillips 2004,2011,2012,2017
6 Jono Scott 2017
7 Luke Noblett 2011,2017
8 Kieran Govers 2017
9 Cameron Parsons 2017
10 Shayne Smith 2011,2012,2017
11 Matt Bennett 2011,2012,2017
12 Matt Johnson 2011,2012,2017
13 Christian Halyard 2017
15 Michael Sharkey 2011,2017


Coach Peter Tait 1998, 2004 (Player)

2011,2012,2017 (Coach)

Coach Jay Holley 2004, 2017 (Coach)
Manager Peter Krepp 2017 (Manager)